Exciting Custom Orders!

I have been neglecting my blog posts. BUT with good reason! I’ve had a number of custom orders come through my shop that have had me happily chained to my sewing machine. I love custom orders. They give me an opportunity to create something new and possibly even a new item for the shop.

For example, a woman contacted me about a costume/photo prop set for her baby, and this is what we came up with!

Its sized for babes 9-12 months. The beard is attached to the hat, so the pieces work together to keep each other on the kids’ head. And the adjustable belt with faux buckle, so cute! Baby just needs a long sleeved blue shirt, brown sweat pants and some baby booties to be the cutest Gnomelet in the whole world! The customer who commissioned this is using the costume in a family photo shoot, and I can’t wait to see the pictures.

I’m a procrastinator. I love sewing and coming up with new items is awesome, but I will sit on an idea like a hen on eggs. Ideas need more than hard thinking to hatch, tho. They require action! I’d been wanting to do a Gnomeo version of the original gnome costume, but was having a hard time actually doing it. UNTIL a custom order came through. “My son wants to look JUST LIKE GNOMEO!” the request read!

Gnomeo Costume

I think I hit the nail on the head.

I’ve had several custom orders for family costume sets, and those make me the happiest, I think. How cute will this gnome family be at the neighborhood Halloween party this year?

The whole family has matching hats. Dad and two boys get beards, and the baby gets a hat with an adorable red ribbon chin tie! Very unique family costume.

So I’ve been stitching up a storm. And ordering business cards. AND I even have a commissioned order of my own: soon my Etsy will have an original banner and avatar set! I’m so excited to see it.

I’ve tried Etsy shops before, but this is the first time I’m truly doing something I love, and people are responding. Woo who! I’M excited! 😀

Leave a Reply

