Why I Love He-Man and NOT She-Ra

My kids are ages 6, 4, and 2. We’re a fairly limited t.v. family, but I let them watch some things. Kids programming can be tough on parents, tho, and I was getting tired of watching the kid shows made up of computer generated images. I’m sorry, but most of these computer generated figures are low budget and lack character and personality. Fortunately we have cable and DVR. I was desperate. While the shows I choose for my kids generally have some educational value, I needed a break and searched up some old cartoon favorites from when I was a kid: He-Man, She-Ra, and Thundercats. WHOA! The kids LOVE these shows more than candy. I’m tellin’ ya. BIG hits. Too big. If left alone in the house with the remote they would do nothing but watch He-Man and She-Ra over and over and over and over and over… Forget eating, forget the sun is shining, forget conversation and books, there are CARTOONS to watch! So now I have to balance the classics with the modern shows! I can handle that. What knocked my socks off (in a funny haha kinda way) was the conversation between my kids this morning. My four year old son said “Hazel loves She-Ra and I love He-Man!” Associating his boy character and her girl character with the appropriate person. My daughter turns to him and says, “I don’t love She-Ra. I love He-Man.” My son asks, “Why? Cause he’s cool?” To which my six year old daughter says, “No, because he’s handsome.” Six going on six-teen, I’m in trouble. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

