Revisiting Old Ideas

A while back I badly wanted to make felt butterfly wings WITHOUT wire and failed miserably. You may recall reading about my attempt. I used felt for the front and back of the wings, with felt inlays and sandwiched between the front and back I used a fusible fleece. All of these materials hold their shape very well, even in single layers. But the wings I developed were huge. The wings were beautiful and I was so excited – then the whole thing flopped when I tried it on my son. He was so disappointed – as was I! Fusible fleece ain’t cheap, and it had taken a considerable amount to try with the wings. I get mopey when things don’t work out. I sulked for a few months and worked on different projects for a while, then I returned to wings but on a smaller scale. I wanted to do dragon wings. And I wanted to make them without wire. I tried a number of different fusible options and finally success was mine! They were light. They were shapely yet flexible. They did not flop! Very strong and durable, they’ve passed adventure after adventure with flying colors! (pun intended!) So I’m going to return to making butterfly wings. But I want to know, do you like the idea of individual wings – one on each arm? I like the individual wings because the kids can actually flap their wings. Or do you prefer a solid wing with elastic shoulder straps, like traditional fairy wings? Hmmm… Lots to consider. I hope to have a couple of models to write about within the next couple of weeks. Leave me some feedback!!!

Leave a Reply

