Happy Mother’s Day

We do not participate in traditional celebrations of what I call “Hallmark” holidays around here. We enjoy the holidays, but in our own way. I don’t need over-priced bouquets of flowers or chocolate, or a meal in a restaurant on one of the busiest days of the year. Its nice to have an annual reminder to take the time to appreciate the loved ones in our lives, but everyday can be a Valentine’s or a Mother’s or Father’s day. We try hard to teach our children to show appreciation and be thankful year round and we don’t put a lot of pressure on the holidays.

That said, today is Mother’s Day. I bought us strawberry and goat cheese muffins to have for breakfast, made myself an extra cup of coffee, and pretended Oliver’s sleeping till 8:30am (as opposed to getting me up at 4:30am) was some kind of unconscious gift! And as I held my little Oliver this morning I couldn’t help but think of the fragility of our time together. The ache of the terror and grief I experienced having almost lost my son is as sharp today as it was two and a half years ago, and prodded me to think about what Mother’s Day, the actual day, means to me. My conclusion is that I am so thankful to be a mother. Its easy for us to forget what a privilege it is to be a mom, as it is easy for our kids and spouses to forget how lucky they are to have us.  Mother’s Day is as much about appreciating my family as it is about them appreciating me. So I resolve: Today I will not worry or stress. I will enjoy my domestic activities as my disaster of a house is really evidence of our wonderful life together. I will laugh at my children’s antics instead of worrying about the couch pillows. I will hold, hug, and kiss my kids as they require. I will stop what I’m doing when I’m needed and appreciate the interruptions because my life would be so empty without them. I love you, my little ones, and I love you, my husband. What and where would I be without you? Happy Mother’s Day to me!

Leave a Reply

